The NYS Safe Boating Certificate is an 8-hour course that will help you develop basic boating skills. It also teaches you how to respect others on the water. You will learn about navigation, the use of GPS devices, man overboard procedures, and safety equipment.
You can take the New York State Safe Boating Course in person or online. Both methods are available to people of all ages.
In order to take the course, you must be at least 10 years old. You must also be accompanied by an adult 18 years old or older.
The course costs $10. You will need your birth date, name, and Conservation ID number before completing the course.
You must pass the certification exam to receive your certificate. If you fail, you will need to repeat the course.
Upon completion of the course, you will receive a temporary boating safety certificate. You must show the certificate to an enforcement officer.
If you fail to do so, you will be fined up to $250. You will also need to carry the certificate with you when you operate a motorized vessel.
This certification is not only good for a few pages of your paperback book, but it’s also recognized in other states that have mandatory education requirements.
This consists of a boating course and a boating safety certificate. This PFBC course will teach you about the rules of the water and how to avoid a collision.
The Commission also offers a home study, video-based distance learning course. The course covers safety equipment, navigation rules, and boating safety regulations.
During National Safe Boating Week, the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission will also provide boating safety tips and education.
These include using a life jacket, not operating under the influence, and knowing how to recognize a hazardous dam.
It is a good idea to enroll in this course before you take your boat out on the water. The course is free and will be held during the week of the Pittsburgh Boat Show.